Now billing insurance for workmen's compensation claims and motor vehicle accidents. See below for more details.
MOTOR VEHICLE COLLISION (MVC/MVA) INSURANCE
Oregon law requires motor vehicle insurance companies to provide Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage on all policies. PIP includes coverage for any “reasonable and necessary” medical expenses related to motor vehicle collision injuries.
If you are injured in a motor vehicle collision in Oregon, it is your right to seek treatment from providers of your choice. Before seeking therapeutic massage services, your primary care physician or a licensed medical doctor must evaluate the extent of your injuries and determine whether massage therapy is an appropriate treatment for you. Massage therapy treatments, if approved by a qualified medical professional, are covered by your PIP even if another party is at fault.
Medical expenses: Your auto insurance will pay for treatments related to your MVA injury for up to one or two years from the date of the incident OR until your PIP benefits are exhausted. Check with your auto insurance company to find out the specifics of your policy. Personal injury protection is required to pay reasonable medical expenses for up to one year and $15,000 ($15,000 is the minimum, a few people have higher limits). Oregon Senate Bill 411 made a slight but important modification that extends PIP coverage for medical bills following an accident from one year to two years (the new law went into effect on January 1, 2016, effective on policies issued or renewed on or after that date).
Please download and email me a completed copy of the Insurance Intake Form for your first appointment, and be sure to bring or send us your physician’s referral as well. It is also necessary to fill out a financial agreement in case your claim is denied or your PIP runs out.
Prior to coming in for your appointment, you must obtain a prescription for Massage Therapy from your primary care physician. The prescription must state a diagnosis code, the number of treatments prescribed, and a 97124 or 97140 & CPT code (diagnosis code) in order for massage therapy treatments to be covered. You can use our template Massage Therapy Referral Form to ensure we get all the appropriate information.
Along with your personal information, we will also need the following:
Insurance company name, address and phone number.
Claim number, and the date of incident.
Claim adjuster's name, telephone and fax numbers.
Does my personal injury protection always pay my medical bills?
No. The law requires that they pay reasonable and necessary medical bills. That is why a prescription for massage therapy is needed.
If you have not already, we will contact the insurance company to find out if your benefits include coverage for services provided by a licensed massage therapist (diagnosis code). We will need to verify coverage before your first appointment.
Inquire about insurance coverage by emailing: firstname.lastname@example.org
The Oregon personal injury protection information presented at this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice, nor the formation of a lawyer or attorney client relationship. To get specific legal advice regarding your personal injury protection, please contact an attorney. This website is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the State of Oregon and may be considered advertising by the Oregon State Bar Rules.